L’Expérience Tanzanienne

Est-ce qu’une seule image mentale peut résumer l’expérience tanzanienne ? Des milliers et des milliers de gnous marchant à l’unisson au cours de leur migration annuelle dans le Serengeti, peut-être ? Ou bien une famille d’éléphants pataugeant dans la large et boueuse rivière Rufiji (Tarangire) ? Et que dire des lions rassasiés prenant le soleil au milieu des hautes herbes du cratère du Ngorongoro ? Evidemment, ce sont toutes ces images qui viennent à l’esprit quand on pense à la Tanzanie. Et à juste titre !
En vérité, la Tanzanie est une destination de safari sans équivalent. Les statistiques parlent d’elles-mêmes : un quart du territoire a été préservé, avec en tête le célèbre Parc National du Serengeti et l’incroyable Réserve du Selous, ainsi qu’une riche mosaïque d’aires protégées qui accueillent en tout environ 20 % de la population des gros mammifères africains.

Mais la Tanzanie, ce n’est pas seulement les safaris. Il y a les sommets du Kilimandjaro et du Mont Meru, respectivement premier et cinquième plus hauts sommets d’Afrique. Il y a les lacs Victoria, Tanganyika et Nyasa, les trois plus larges d’Afrique. Et puis il y a, bien sûr, la magique île au épices, Zanzibar, perle de l’Océan Indien aux plages de rêve, aux fabuleux sites de plongée sous-marine et aux mystérieuses ruines médiévales.

Cela ne s’arrête pas là. Sur les rives sablonneuses du lac Tanganyika, la forêt de Gombe et le les Montagnes de Mahale rivalisent pour savoir lequel des deux Parcs est le meilleur endroit pour observer les chimpanzés. Plus près de la côte, les massifs isolés trop peu connus de l’Arc montagneux de l’Est ont été surnommés « les Galápagos africaines », en rapport avec le nombre de plantes et d’animaux endémiques qu’ils abritent. Et l’intimidante diversité de la faune tanzanienne va de pair avec la diversité culturelle de ses 120 ethnies : les célèbres bergers massais de la vallée du Rift, les Swahilis d’influence arabe de la côte ou les cueilleurs-chasseurs Hadzabe du lac Eyasi.

Alors, comment décrire l’expérience offerte par un pays qui possède toutes ces perles que sont le Kilimandjaro, Zanzibar, le lac Tanganyika, le Serengeti et le Selous ? Une expérience qui pour certains consistera en de longues journées de randonnée dans des conditions extrêmes, le long des pentes les plus escarpées d’Afrique ; une expérience qui pour d’autres sera le safari de leur vie suivi d’un séjour sur une plage idyllique de l’Océan Indien ; une expérience qui pourra aussi être un rencontre avec le regard d’un chimpanzé, une plongée sur les récifs spectaculaires de Mafia ou une promenade sac au dos à travers les ports hors du temps et les ruines à demi oubliées de la Côte Sud…

Et bien, la seule chose qui relie ces différentes attractions, c’est la tolérance, le pacifisme et la fierté du peuple tanzanien. En effet, malgré sa diversité ethnique, la Tanzanie est un exemple pratiquement unique en Afrique : le pays a habilement navigué entre les obstacles politiques – nation colonisée puis indépendante, état d’inspiration communiste puis libéral, régime de parti unique puis démocratie, la Tanzanie a toujours été préservée des affrontements civils ou ethniques.

La Tanzanie a aussi, ces vingt dernières années, émergé de l’ombre pour devenir l’une des plus populaires et des plus dynamiques destination de voyage en Afrique : un territoire où l’incroyable variété de la faune est complétée par l’hospitalité innée des habitants. Comment définir l’expérience tanzanienne ? C’est en réalité très facile. Cela tient en un seul mot que les visiteurs entendront douze fois par jour, où qu’ils voyagent en Tanzanie : le souriant et chaleureux salut swahili « karibu ! ». Bienvenue !

brochure

Cover Tanzania National Parks brochure

 

 

Topis running

 

Lion and Elephants

 

Boat on Lake Tanganyika

 

Baby chimpanzee

 

Mount Kilimanjiaro

NATIONAL PARKS

Arusha

Gombe Stream

Katavi

Kilimanjaro

Kitulo Plateau

Mahale Mountains

Lake Manyara

Mikumi

Mkomazi

Ruaha

Rubondo Island

Saadani

Serengeti

Tarangire

Udzungwa

The Tanzania Experience

Can any one mental snapshot encapsulate the Tanzanian experience? Thousands upon thousands of wildebeest that march in mindless unison on the annual migration through the Serengeti, perhaps? Or a family of elephants wading across the wide, muddy Rufiji/Tarangire River? What about a pride of well-fed lions sunbathing on the grassy floor of the majestic Ngorongoro Crater? Certainly, it is such images that tend to spring to mind when one thinks of Tanzania. And properly so!

Tanzania, truly, is a safari destination without peer. The statistics speak for themselves: an unparalleled one-quarter of its surface area has been set aside for conservation purposes, with the world-renowned Serengeti National Park and incomprehensibly vast Selous Game Reserve heading a rich mosaic of protected areas that collectively harbour an estimated 20 percent of Africa’s large mammal population.

And yet there is more to Tanzania than just safaris. There is Mount Kilimanjaro and Meru, respectively the highest and fifth-highest peaks on the continent. And Lakes Victoria, Tanganyika and Nyasa, the three largest freshwater bodies in Africa. Then, of course, there is the magical ‘spice island’ of Zanzibar, the highlight of a vast Indian Ocean coastline studded with postcard-perfect beaches, stunning offshore diving sites, and mysterious mediaeval ruins.

It doesn’t stop there.

Rising from the sandy shores of Lake Tanganyika, the forested Gombe Stream and Mahale Mountains National Parks vie with each other as the best place in the world to track wild chimpanzees. Closer to the coast, the isolated massifs of the underpublicised Eastern Arc Mountains have been dubbed the ‘African Galapagos’ in recognition of their wealth of endemic plants and animals. And Tanzania’s daunting natural variety is mirrored by a cultural diversity embracing 120 distinct tribes: from the iconic Maasai pastoralists of the Rift Valley, to the Arab-influenced Swahili of the coast, to the Hadzabe hunter-gatherers of Lake Eyasi.

So, how to define the experience offered by a country with highlights as unique and diverse as Kilimanjaro, Zanzibar, Lake Tanganyika, Serengeti and Selous? An experience that might for some entail long days hiking in sub-zero conditions on the upper slopes of Africa’s most alluring peaks; for others a once-in-a-lifetime safari followed by a sojourn on an idyllic Indian Ocean beach; for others still the thrill of eyeballing habituated chimpanzees, or diving in the spectacular offshore reefs around Mafia, or backpacking through the time-warped ports and crumbling ruins of the half-forgotten south coast?

Well, the one thing that does bind Tanzania’s diverse attractions is, of course, its people, who take justifiable pride in their deeply ingrained national mood of tolerance and peacefulness. Indeed, Tanzania, for all its ethnic diversity, is practically unique in Africa in having navigated a succession of modern political hurdles – the transformation from colonial dependency to independent nation, from socialist state to free-market economy, from mono-partyism to fully-fledged democracy - without ever experiencing sustained civil or ethnic unrest.

Tanzania has also, over the past 20 years, emerged from comparative obscurity to stand as one of Africa’s most dynamic and popular travel destinations: a land whose staggering natural variety is complemented by the innate hospitality of the people who live there.

How to define the Tanzanian experience? Surprisingly easy, really. It can be encapsulated in a single word, one that visitors will hear a dozen times daily, no matter where they travel in Tanzania, or how they go about it: the smiling, heartfelt Swahili greeting of “Karibu!” – Welcome!

Tanzania national parks brochure

Cover Tanzania National Parks brochureThis brochure contains a wealth of information about Tanzania National Parks, together with beautiful pictures of Tanzania wildlife and landscapes.

Download your copy now >>

 

Topis running

 

Lion and Elephants

 

Boat on Lake Tanganyika

 

Baby chimpanzee

 

Mount Kilimanjiaro